GARY MOORE RIP: A great guitarist

Gary Moore tragically died Sunday morning, aged 58.  Details of how he died are yet to materialise, but the news is a tragic loss to the world of music.

I was a big fan of Gary Moore from an early age, following his time in Thin Lizzy, and in my view their best album Black Rose. Sadly I didn’t get to see him perform live with them, as he left the band to concentrate on his solo career, therefore seeing them with Snowy White.

He had already helped pen Parisienne Walkways with Phil Lynott as well as the amazing Corridors of Power and Victims of the Future albums by the time I managed to see him live.

My overriding memory of Gary Moore goes back to a time of my early teenage years when I went to see the man live at the Birmingham Odeon on his Run for Cover solo tour.

I was in no way prepared for what I saw.  I’d been playing his album non stop since it came out, and couldn’t wait to see him live.  The Odeon was buzzing with excitement and the atmosphere was amazing.

Waiting in anticipation for him to come on stage, the lights dimmed, a shadowy figure with shaggy mopped hair walked on and the wall of sound and screeching guitars began.  This was the loudest  noise I had ever heard.

People have told me about the time they saw Jimi Hendrix and how it affected them, I knew pretty quickly that this was a moment in my life I would never forget.

I can still remember vividly how I felt at the time and how fantastic he sounded.  His performance blew me away.  His command of the fret board was amazing.  A 1 1/2 hour set of some of the loudest mesmerising music I had heard.

I had the opportunity to see him again live a couple of years later.  This time touring the Wild Frontier album.  Quite often, seeing bands for a 2nd or third time, the excitement of that first time wears off.  But this was not the case with Gary Moore.  This time playing the NEC arena, a much bigger venue, he was again amazing.

The guy gave me fantastic memories from my teenage years, and his music is still amazing.

It’s terribly sad that we have lost such a wonderful musician at such a young age.  But to quote a cliche – his music lives on. R.I.P. Gary Moore.

Leave a Reply

